Illustration Showcase

23 Mar

Last Thursday I was lucky enough to be invited to an illustrator showcase at Orchard publishing house. As I currently work in a book store it was a really interesting evening and focused on children’s picture books (my other speciality). I was able to talk to a few of the illustrators and in particular had quite a lengthy conversation with Leigh Hodgkinson about handmade crafts. She is the author of ‘Colin and the Wrong Shadow’, another ‘Colin..’ book and has a new book called ‘Smile…’ coming out in April/May. I was a bit gutted that I didn’t win any of the raffle prizes of signed prints by the illustrators but as you can see from my photo there were a number of books available to the attendees to get signed (so I nabbed myself three I particularly liked although I should have got the other Colin book too!!).

'I don't want a cool cat' by Emma Dodd, 'The Bear with Sticky Paws' by Clara Vulliamy and 'Colin and the Wrong Shadow' by Leigh Hodgkinson. All hardback signed editions!!!

'I don't want a cool cat' by Emma Dodd, 'The Bear with Sticky Paws' by Clara Vulliamy and 'Colin and the Wrong Shadow' by Leigh Hodgkinson. All hardback signed editions!!!

So I’ve had a few new ideas for crafting projects that steer away from embroidery, particularly focusing on making felt brooches. I’m still doing my embroidery though and have a few projects on the go as well as loads of other ideas that I hope I’ll get off the ground at some point!!

Leave a Reply

