Handmade Heart

26 Mar
Front view

Front view

Back view

Back view

Side view

Side view

Over the last few evenings I’ve been re-reading my past issues of Craft magazine to garner inspiration for forthcoming projects. My most recent is the above heart brooch/pin. The material is felt and I just loved the colour and felt that a heart was the only thing to make. I didn’t want it to just be a plain brooch so decided to embroider 2 sides together and make it 3-D with stuffing. I love the colour of the teal thread against the dark crimson felt – it really stands out and pops and gives the detail of the heart. I did make a couple of mistakes – I forgot to glue and sew the clasp and my initials onto the back before I sewed and stuffed it, but somewhow managed to do it! I’m going to wear it with pride tomorrow and make a few more in different colours for friends and family as gifts, customising each one for the wearer.

And to those who don’t or have never read Craft: magazine and are into crafting and making, go buy it now! You’ll never turn back!!

3 Responses to “Handmade Heart”

  1. Guthrie March 26, 2009 at 11:05 pm #

    Simple and iconic! Nice one.

  2. Guthrie March 26, 2009 at 11:28 pm #

    Interest old lady talking about making and her life as a potter!
    http://www.ted.com/index.php/talks/eva_zeisel_on_the_playful_search_for_beauty.html

  3. The Parents March 27, 2009 at 8:31 pm #

    Checked out your latest blog as you requested my love. Am liking the brooch, the colours are beautiful. The imperfections make it your own design as I have discoverd with the card making I do.

    Love,
    Mumsie xx

Leave a Reply

