Sunday Listening

21 Nov

One thing I haven’t posted on here before is anything about my musical tastes. One thing you should know – they are varied and I make no apologies for what some people consider guilty secrets! Haha!

This weekend I have started rocking the Christmas songs on Spotify. There has been an Elvis does Christmas album on, a bit of classic Frank Sinatra and a bit or Mariah Carey too! Yeah, you heard. Christmas and Mariah Carey! Believe it or not, all the Crimbo songs have actually been helping to kick me up the butt and try to get the majority of my Christmas gifts for family and friends made! I’m trying to have a 95% handmade Christmas this year due to fundage constraints so my butt needs to get into gear quick-smart!!! THERE’S ONLY 34 DAYS LEFT UNTIL THE 25TH PEOPLE!!! Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhh!


(This is kinda how I feel right now about the prospect of making everything! Haha!!)

Okay, so I obviously don’t just have Christmas songs on Spotify. This weekend in particular I have been listening to (in no particular order):

-Kelis – Kelis Was Here
-Cee-Lo – Fuck You (single)
-Elvis Presley – Elvis 75
-Mark Ronson & The Business Intl – Record Collection
-She&Him – Volume 2
-First Aid Kit – I Met Up With The King (single)
-The Breeders – Title Tk
-Various – We Were So Turned On: A Tribute to David Bowie
-Uffie – Sex Dreams and Denim Jeans
-Johnny Cash – The Essential Johnny Cash

As you can see there is quite a big jump from artist to artist. And that’s only the tip of the iceberg of my musical tastes. Bands and singers I’ve seen live, if you can call it that for some of them, include: Britney Spears, Silverchair, Patrick Wolf, CocoRosie, Steps (remember them?), Taking Back Sunday, Juliette and the Licks, Black Sabbath, Metallica, System of a Down, The Distillers, The Darkness, Goldfrapp, Duran Duran, The Prodigy…….the list really does go on and on (I’ve been to a number of festivals in the UK over the years and it’s always a great chance to see bands live but I don’t always remember who I’ve seen! Whoops!)

I’m thinking of making a regular feature out of music I’m loving during the week, whether it be new or old. Would you guys and gals be interested in reading about my musical tastes and opinions? It might be about a song I’m loving in particular, an album or an artist. It could introduce you to something you like/love or you could totally hate it but that’s the great thing about music!! (I’m no expert about music either, nor do I claim to be. I’ll just be talking about why I love what I love.)

Anyhow, maybe you’ll go and have a listen to some of the tunes and albums above that I’ve been listening to. They are all awesome and lovely in very different ways but beware if you have younger ears around or don’t like obscenities as some of them contain large amounts of swearing!

xx Crafty Love from a musical Crafty Fox xx

2 Responses to “Sunday Listening”

  1. hollyjune November 21, 2010 at 9:12 pm #

    I would like more music posts! I prefer to discover new bands via friends than music blogs and would take your recommendations to heart!

    • craftyfox November 23, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

      Yay! Cool, regular feature it is!

Leave a Reply

