I Have A New Role Model

17 Sep

There are a few women in my life that I seriously admire and consider role models – my grandmothers, my mum, my sister and a couple of friends who are constantly an inspiration to me. But recently I’ve added a famous face into the fold. I’m not usually one to find myself inspired by famous women (apart from maybe fashion-wise) and never before have I called one a role model. But a role model she has become. “Who is it?” you ask?

Yep. Christina Hendricks. That’s who. Now some of you might be thinking ‘Oh, well you’re just jumping on the Mad Men/Curvy Women bandwagon and you just like her because she’s famous and easy to idolise.’ For starters, I haven’t actually watched Mad Men apart from a couple of episodes when it was first broadcast here in the UK. As I don’t have a TV and not too much spare cash, I’ve missed it (although I will be purchasing Season 1 & 2 on DVD as soon as I get paid and catching up with the rest of the world). Secondly, I AM the Curvy Women bandwagon! Haha! By this I mean I’m not the woman who started the skinny vs. curvy debate and I don’t often take part in discussions about it, apart from to say that each woman is entitled to look like whoever she wants be it big and curvy or small and skinny. As long as she’s healthy, that’s all we should worry about! I myself am a woman with curves. And after Ms. Hendricks recent press heavy Emmy appearance (due to her lovely, big, womanly breasts) it became apparent that we are of a number of similar proportions.

This was the dress and those are the breasts that shot her into a new stratosphere. But what people maybe didn’t realise is that parts of the dress had to be customised to fit her measurements and that no other designers even offered to dress her for the event! How does this happen for an actress who has fast become one of the most popular characters in recent TV history?

So why is she my role model? Here we have a woman that isn’t afraid to flaunt what her mamma gave her! A woman who will admit that she wants to lose 10 pounds, like every other woman in this world. A woman who will admit that she does look beautiful in the occasional picture (we all have to admit it, even if it takes years, that not ALL the pictures taken of us are awful!).

Personally, I think it’s a shame that we the public and the press have made so much of Christina Hendricks’ body. She’s an actress and, like any person in any profession, should be noted for her acting skills. I personally think she was good in Firefly as Saffron and from what I hear, she’s good in Mad Men too. But her body has shot her into a whole new level of consciousness in society and has opened up a whole new series of debates about body image that have been bubbling under the surface for a long time.

I don’t want to be an actress nor do I want to be particularly famous. But if I did, I have women like Christina Hendricks to thank for creating a whole heap of new opportunities. And she’s also made a lot of men and fellow curvy women realise that, actually, us curvy girls are and can be DAMN FUCKING SEXY!

Christina Hendricks, I salute you as my newest role model. Thank you for being amazing!

(Oh and did you guys realise that she knits too? She is a true Crafty Fox!!)

xx Crafty Love from a Crafty Fox xx

Leave a Reply

