D is for Down Under

8 Jun

Some of you may or may not know this but I’m Australian. I was born there 24 years ago and lived in various locations up and down the East Coast until I was almost 13, when I moved to the UK with my parents. It’s been about 5 years since I went back to visit and every so often I have huge pangs of home sickness – one of those which inspired this post! So I thought I’d share with you some of my experiences and favourite things about Australia, or Down Under as it’s known to some! Ha.

1) My family: the majority of my family live in Australia still, including my grandmother and my brother. There’s a small family reunion-y thing going on this July but a few of us are unable to make it due to personal and financial constraints. Now, my immediate family (mum, dad, sister, bro and me) is quite average sized. However if you were my grandmother you would have 41 family members, including children, in-laws, grandchildren and great-grandchildren! Knowing me, I’ve probably missed someone out so sorry if I have guys!! Hehe. But still it’s a huge family! Not all of my family live over there as I explained, but when most of them do it’s very easy to get homesick and miss them! No photos for this one unfortunately – I don’t want to post pictures of them all unless they give me their express permission!

2)CHERRY RIPE and TWISTIES!!!! These are two of my all time favourite snack foods and whenever anyone ever goes to Australia and asks me if I would like anything, I ALWAYS say cherry ripe and twisties! If you ever get the chance to try either, do it. You’ll never look back. Oh, and cheese twisties all the way!!

3) Many of you might know about this magazine already but if you don’t, it’s one of Australia’s fastest growing craft/lo-fi/fashion/culture/etc magazine’s. I discovered the magazine from Issue 2 (which I bought because they had an interview with Brody Dalle – one of my lady heros) but unfortunately I didn’t keep up with buying them or getting my family to send them over. That’s changing though as one of my lovely cousins has agreed to send them over as soon as she’s done with it! Love you, Leonie! They’ve released 2 books and if you’re into the things they write about on their blog and feature in the magazine, give it a whirl! Go on, go over to the Frankie website. You know you want to!

4) Brody Dalle. This woman is one of my musical heroines! Back in 2002, I had just finished high school and was just about to enter my riot grrl phase, when this woman and her band The Distillers came along. They were known on the underground punk scene (before she got together with Josh Homme of QOTSA, she was married to Tim Armstrong of Rancid) with their self-titled debut but it was their second album, ‘Sing Sing Death House’, that they started reaching the more mainstream music press and with their third album, ‘Coral Fang’, The Distillers had reached a level of success that probably surpassed anything they ever imagined. Now, I know you’re probably wondering why Ms Dalle specifically. She is also an Australian!! Uh huh! One tattoo I have is based around one she has (3 stars across the wrist) and I was lucky enough to be able to see The Distillers a number of times. Now, Brody is the frontwoman for Spinerette, and if you like a bit of gravelly, female vocals over a strong punk riff then give them a listen!!

5) I used to live on that island. Don’t believe me? Just mention my name and I’m sure someone will be able to tell you stories about me! Haha. I lived there, on Thursday Island (yes, that is it’s name and before you say it, there are also Wednesday and Friday Island’s too), in the Torres Strait, Far North Queensland, between the tip of mainland Australia and Papua New Guinea. The four years I lived there were probably some of the best of my life. I used to live by the upside down L-shape in the bottom right hand peninsula of the island, which also happens to be the hospital my dad worked at and the reason we moved there. I used to go reef walking when the reef was cleaning itself (looks amazing, smells BAD!!), fishing on the wharf and in the dinghy, and swimming in the shallows of the beaches. I went on regular trips to the other islands with friends and family and school. It was amazing. I miss it dearly and if I get the chance to go back I do as a few of my friends still have family living there or are there themselves if they haven’t moved mainland. Oh and if you are wondering how you get there, there are regular flights with Qantas to one of the other islands and you get the boat over. Yes, an airport on an island. Don’t worry…it’s big enough to not run out of runway!! Haha.

So there you go. A few tidbits about my favourite place in the world. I love other cities and countries, but to me Australia will always be home.


(And yes, I used to see that sunset every night on Thursday Island, or T.I. as it’s known.)

xx Crafty Love from a Crafty Fox xx

P.S. I hope you’re enjoying My Alphabet series so far!! I look forward to sharing ‘E’ with you soon!!

6 Responses to “D is for Down Under”

  1. CaL June 8, 2010 at 4:20 pm #

    How amazing!!! I’d love to go to Australia! I plan on diving the reefs & definitely surfing some Australian white water! That is so amazing that you’re from here! What a dream!

  2. Mumsie June 8, 2010 at 4:24 pm #

    Loving the D for Down Under. It’s fabulous and I hope people read it and comment.

    Love you,

    Mum xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  3. yumi June 10, 2010 at 1:32 am #

    Hello!
    Thank you so much for the tweet and support for NO PLASTIC DAY…you are in the draw for some exciting things! fingers crossed!!!
    xxxyumi

    p.s. thanks for you post about Australia! I really enjoyed reading it. I’m an Aussie also(well, half Aussie, half Japanese!), soon to be moving to France…it’s nice to hear that there are a few of us scattered around the world!

    • craftyfox June 10, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

      Very exciting and thank you for your sweet comment! Where about’s are you moving to? I’ve been to Paris and Calais and thoroughly loved them both. Paris is somewhere I would love to go back soon and I have family living there so it makes it easier to figure out accommodation! If you ever come over to London or I’m coming to France we should have a meet up! I haven’t been home in 5 years and would love to hear about what it’s like now! Haha, that sounds a little cheesey! xx Jackie

  4. Emma June 10, 2010 at 10:29 pm #

    That was just a brilliant post – I was smiling as I read it. I was in Sydney and Newcastle for a total of 4 weeks last year and I’m desperately trying to get a sponsored 457 visa so I and my two kiddiwinks can move to Aus – and I don’t mind where but p’raps not much further north than Bris or Perth! I want sun and warmth, but I think the northern peninsula might just get a tad hot to begin with 😉 I’m loving everything Australian so if you plan on any more posts about the country count me in as an avid follower 🙂

    Carry on having fun Up Top!
    x

  5. yumi June 18, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

    hello hello!
    yes, my partner and I are moving to France in October…we are still trying out different visa options and looking for places to rent. We want to stay in Paris for a month or so and then move to the South of France near Bierlitz(I hope I spelt that right?!)
    Have you travelled around this area? Any tips for Paris…or even places to rent???!!!
    xxxyumi
    p.s. congratulations….you were the lucky winner of our eco give-away!!! I hope you don’t mind but I mentioned it on the blog…and could you email me your postal address? yay for you!

Leave a Reply

