B is for Blogging

27 May

There was no question as to what ‘B’ stood for in my alphabet! I’ve only really been an active member of the blogging community for about a year and a half but in that year and a half I have found inspiration, motivation and great friendship.

I’m not going to list all my favourite blogs in this post as I already have a pretty comprehensive list in my blogroll links (on the right of this page). I’m not even going to tell my blogging story – that can be saved for another post. So what am I going to do? I’ve decided to post my favourite tutorials and free stuff links from the blogs I read. Some of these you may have come across, some you may not. The blogging community for me isn’t as narcissistic as some people make it out to be. All some people want to do is share ideas, create and inspire and don’t care particularly about getting their 15 minutes in the blogging spotlight through that. And that is what blogging is for me – my way of sharing with my readers/followers/groupies (haha)/or whatever you want to call them, ideas and inspiration and my creative spark, in the hope that it inspires and creates ideas for someone else!

So without further ado here are some of my favourite blog tutorials and free stuff!! (click on the image for link through to project/blog)

Learn how to make your own teepee with a little help from Rachel of Smile and Wave!

Ever wanted to make a silhouette fashionable? With a little help from Chelsea over at Seablanket you can with her amazing tote bag tutorial!

Katrina over at Pugly Pixel has some great free clip art downloads! Who doesn’t love cute vintage paper?
(Please be aware that all her images are for personal use and not intended for commercial use; i.e. Don’t make money by using her designs and saying they’re your own. Bad karma will come your way if you do!)

Create these great polymer clay gift tags with this tutorial over on poppytalk with Mitsy from Artmind. Such a clever way of making a special gift even more personal!

These amazing fabric pumpkins can be made into anything from a plushie to a doorstop! Danielle over at Thompson Family-Life has such an eye for great design! I love these and plan to make them as gifts for people moving house!

Another idea from Mitsy over at Artmind – making your own lottery style scratch cards! It’s such an ingenious idea and a fun way to give a gift such as a personal voucher – Valentine’s Day springs to mind with this one! Hehe.

Some other great places to find tutorials and links to free stuff include the Craftzine blog and Design*Sponge as well as other bloggers regularly posting such as Katja over at maedchenmitherz and Elsie over at A Beautiful Mess.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this letter of my alphabet. I can’t wait to share ‘C’ with you guys – it’s one of my great passions but may not be quite what you were expecting!!

Hope you’re having a great week! And thanks to those of you who have sent well wishes over the past weeks. It’s really appreciated! Oh, and I’m now wisdomless (well, in terms of my teeth anyway!). Recovery going well so far! Happy reading and enjoy the tutorials!

xx Crafty Love from a Crafty Fox xx

2 Responses to “B is for Blogging”

  1. Ivana May 27, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

    I absolutely adore those pumpkins! Thanks for the great roundup!

  2. hollyjune May 27, 2010 at 11:10 pm #

    That scratchcard post is incredible. I’m going to start turning everything into scratchcards!

Leave a Reply

