A is for Art

23 May

I’ve decided to start a new blog project to get ready for the transition from this one to the new one. It’s entitled ‘My Alphabet’ and each letter will be represented here by something I love, am inspired by, think is funny or cute or just plain bizarre! As soon as I get to letter Z, the new blog will be up and running and so will start a new phase in my blogging experience and your blog viewing!

So, we start with A is for Art.

For as long as I can remember I have been interested in art. I loved drawing and painting as a child and art was one of my favourite lessons during my entire time at school.  I gave art a break during my 2 years at college. I had wanted to study art history but there weren’t enough students to warrant a class. This didn’t stop me drawing though and as soon as I turned 18, I started putting art on my body in the form of tattoos. I became an artist of a different kind after college and spent a year training as a make-up artist before I moved onto university and studied Film with History of Art/Architecture, Design and Film. During my degree I started appreciating art in a different way, giving thought to why I liked particular artists and discovering new artists that would inspire and influence me in the years to come.

Fast forward to now, and although I do not consider myself an artist, I cannot deny the importance art has had on my life and my work. Below are links to a few of my favourite artists and an example of their work (click the image for the link).

PLEASE BE AWARE THAT SOME OF THESE IMAGES MAY NOT BE SUITABLE FOR CHILDREN OR COULD BE DEEMED OFFENSIVE TO THOSE WHO DO NOT LIKE NUDITY.

MARK RYDEN

SHAUN TAN

FAFI (I own the piece on the right – it was part of a limited run of 55 screen prints)

MISS VAN

WASSILY KANDINSKY

ROB RYAN

ELSIE FLANNIGAN

ALBERTO VARGAS

There are obviously so many more artists I admire and love the work of but to list them all would mean I’d be here for a veeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeery long time. I hope you’ve enjoyed this and I can’t wait to do the rest of the alphabet!

xx Crafty Love from a Crafty Fox xx

2 Responses to “A is for Art”

  1. Liz May 24, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    I loooove the last one by Alberto Vargas. So classic<3

  2. hollyjune May 24, 2010 at 9:00 pm #

    I adore this idea, wish I’d thought of it myself! I love Rob Ryan and recently bought a few of his cards to frame and hang in my hallway. Must get round to it!

    Can’t wait to see more of these posts!

Leave a Reply

