Collection Loves

29 Mar

Everyone has their collections. Some people love toy cameras like Holga, Diana and Polaroid…

Other people love fabrics – ginghams, florals, block colours and Japanese prints…

Me? Well my collections revolve around a few key areas.

Buttons…

These are a few of my favourite buttons I’ve bought/found/been given over the last couple of years. I love it when I find big cards of vintage buttons for amazingly cheap prices (like the one in the middle was about £3!!). The antique market at Spitalfields has to be one of my new favourite places to find vinatge buttons. Covent Garden market is good also.

Postcards…

Postcards have been in my collectors box for quite a while. When I was at university I often used to go to the Kingston Antique Market and rifle through the boxes and boxes of old postcards they had. I also picked up a few when I was in Paris a few years ago that I absolutely love. The thing I like most about vintage postcards are the messages that are sometimes written on them. One I found in Paris had a message from one girl to another along the lines of making sure she showed her “appreciation” to her husband when he came back from his army service! Hehe.

Wool…

Everyone knows I love wool. It’s not so much something I collect to keep and look at but I do tend to buy a skein if it’s in a particularly attractive colour and I can afford it! All of the skeins will be used for projects though, it’s just deciding what I want to make with them that’s the problem!

and Notebooks…

All bar two of the above notebooks have something written in them. Most I have bought, others I have been given for free or have been freebies at events I have gone to. I used to work for Paperchase and received quite a nice staff discount which meant that I built up quite to collection. I can go for months without buying any but then sometimes there will be a few I see in quick succession and I’ll get all of them! Each notebook that I use is filled with things from personal thoughts and poems to business ideas and plans. They all have a purpose and help me to keep things in my life organised.

A couple of other areas I collect in include stickers and stamps. I have quite a few sticker albums from my childhood that I can’t bear to throw away and have found some sweet stickers in them too, after looking back through them as an adult. My stamp collecting was something I also did during the majority of my childhood  – I’m not a philatelist as I do not/never studied the stamps (philately is the study of stamps), but I enjoyed finding and receiving new stamps. It’s why I had so many penpals during my late tween (I hate that word so much) and early teen years. I also have a few first issues amongst my collection (they were my special treats from my parents and grandparents usually).

So there you go! A few little collections for you that I thought I would finally share with you all!

On a completely different note, I now have 2 blogs!! If you are interested in London, walking and style, Urban Glambling will surely be a must read for you. My sister and I have been urban rambling around London for just over a month now and we decided to set up a blog as a way to document each of our trips. It’s currently a blog-in-progress so excuse the lack of posting – we’ll soon have it looking amazing!

I hope you all had a good weekend and have a great week planned ahead! The Last Wednesday Knitting Club launches this Wednesday at The Travel Bookshop, and I’m very excited and will be baking to provide some tasty treats to those who come along! Eeeek! Hehe. Please come along if you get the chance, it’ll be lovely to meet some of the London blogging community!

Anyway, that is all for now. See you back here soon!

xx Crafty Love from a Crafty Fox xx

4 Responses to “Collection Loves”

  1. chelsea March 29, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    I love toy cameras — I have 2 holgas (120 mm and 35mm) and a Supersampler. They’re so fun!

    I also collect notebooks like you do!

  2. Giselle March 30, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    Oh good! I can now give a different name (collecting!) to my slightly obsessive amassing of …stuff… instead of feeling quite so bad about yet another purchase. Makes me feel lots better, thank you.
    I’ll try to make it on Wednesday, even if a little late. Looking forward to it.

  3. Kimberly March 30, 2010 at 8:57 pm #

    I’m definitely with you on the buttons and the wool but my mother is the worst for notebooks, never uses them just collects pretty ones, constantly! Maybe we should do a swap

    Kx

  4. Diana March 31, 2010 at 12:30 am #

    I love your notebook collection! Now I know what to send you… 🙂

Leave a Reply

