New Challenges:New Starts:New Prospects

20 Mar

Ever since my birthday happened at the beginning of this month, things have been on the up. I’ve been getting support from avenues I had almost given up on and new challenges and prospects have presented themselves to me in the form of some very exciting things!

Number 1 –

I’ve enrolled on a 10 week Silkscreen and Printmaking Workshop and I’m very excited about it! I’ve done linocut printing before but have always wanted to learn how to screen print and make other kinds of prints. I’ve been trying to broaden my horizons in terms of the crafts I am able in and I can’t wait to finally add printmaker to that list!

Number 2 –

This is the most exciting new challenge for me by far. I’M STARTING UP A KNITTING GROUP!!! Yes, a real-life knitting group where actual people (I hope) meet up for a couple of hours a month to chat, knit and generally have a good time. It’s called The Last Wednesday Knitting Group because, surprise surprise, it’s held on the last Wednesday of every month! Hehe. The first one is 31st March, just over a week away. If live in the London (UK) area and are interested in coming along, here are the details:

When: 31st March 2010, from 6pm-8:30pm
Where: The Travel Bookshop, 13-15 Blenheim Crescent, Notting Hill, London, W11 2EE
Nearest Tube: Notting Hill Gate//Ladbroke Grove (about a 5-10 minute walk from each)
Nearest Bus: 5245223770228 (go here to see where the buses stop)

There is no need to bring anything apart from your wool and knitting/crochet/etc…we will be able to teach the basic stitches to learners and refreshments will be available. As this is the launch night, it will be quite informal and we can discuss any requests and questions new members have about how the group will run, special events, etc…

My boyfriend is currently designing the poster for the knitting group and as soon as it’s finished I’ll be posting it here!! If you have any questions, feel free to contact me at jaqueline(at)craftyfoxes(dot)co(dot)uk or leave a comment on the blog. And if anyone has any really good tips to help me run this baby smoothly, they will be very much appreciated!!

I have a few more exciting things in the wings however I’m going to save those for another post  – one of them will be a new feature soon so I don’t want to ruin the surprise just yet! Right time for me to go to bed. I’m up early tomorrow (yes, up early on a Sunday) so I need some beauty sleeps! Haha.

xx Crafty Love from a Crafty Fox xx

5 Responses to “New Challenges:New Starts:New Prospects”

  1. fridica March 21, 2010 at 12:13 am #

    Oooooh, brilliant! Just as I was going to say “That’s great, please write about the whole process, cause I’m thinking of starting a knitting group when I go back home to Croatia”, I realized this was in London! I am definitely coming! Having a reason to go to Notting Hill is always a good thing + the opportunity to actually meet someone from the virtual world (yay) + knit knit knitting… : ) See you there!

    • craftyfox March 21, 2010 at 3:44 pm #

      Yay! I can’t wait for it and I’m happy that one person I don’t know in person wants to come along! Hehe.

      • fridica March 23, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

        Oh btw, are you thinking of starting a Ravelry group for it? It ocurred to me as I was perusing my huge list of Rav groups today… : )

  2. kim smith March 23, 2010 at 1:06 am #

    oh man! i think i want to comeeeeee!!!
    i don’t know if i’ll be around for the first meeting but maybe i can come to the second one?
    HOW EXCITING! 😀

    • craftyfox March 23, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

      Please do! They’ll be on the last Wednesday of each month and I’ll always advertise here as well as on The Travel Bookshop website, twitter, etc…I’m so excited for the launch!!

Leave a Reply

