Tutorial Tuesday!

2 Feb

Welcome to a new feature here at Crafty Foxes! I’m so excited about this as it’s been something I’ve wanted to do for a long time. Tutorial Tuesday will be posted once a month on the first Tuesday of that month. I love it when tutorials are posted on other blogs and thought it was about time I did the same! Posting once a month also means that I can come up with some amazing ideas for you guys and gals to enjoy. You never know, if I think of too many things you might get more than one a month!

My first tutorial is going to be Valentine’s themed. I can’t believe that it’s February already, I’m still getting used to it being 2010!!! Valentine’s day is less than 2 weeks away now but my little tutorial is something that you could easily make for yourself, the one you love or another loved one like family and friends.

Stuffed hearts

Materials:

Felt square in your chosen colour

Contrasting embroidery thread

Brooch back finding

Sewing needle (you will need something sharp but large/strong enough to go through two layers of felt)

Scissors

Polyfil stuffing

Optional: Heart template – I always freehand when I cut out my shapes as it makes each one unique and is what I love about crafting!

Once you’ve decided how big you want your heart, draw and cut out your template. Use chipboard or a sturdy cardboard so you can use it again and again! Then cut out two felt heart shapes from your template. If you decide to freehand cut out a rectangle from the felt square about the size you want the heart to be. Fold the piece of felt in half longways (from top to bottom) and then half again sideways (from left to right) before cutting from the second folded side – doing this gives you a pretty even heart shape, trimming can be done later if one side is bigger.

Sew the brooch backing onto one of the hearts you have cut out. Do this with the contrasting embroidery thread you’ve chosen. I always sew the brooch pin a little higher than normal as the weight from the stuffing makes the brooch a bit floppy if you do it any lower.

Now it’s time to sew the two sides together. You want the wrong sides facing when you do this. Start with a small knot on the wrong side at the bottom of the heart, near the point, a few millimetres from the edge. Then you want to sew the two hearts together using a backstitch. You’ll notice that this gives you a wrong side of stitching at the back where the brooch pin is – after making a few it gets neater but don’t worry about it as people aren’t looking at that side!! Hand stitch around until you get halfway down the opposite side and stop.

Stuff your heart with polyfil in the small opening that you haven’t yet sewn up. You can fill them as much or as little as you want. When you’ve finished doing this, continue sewing up the remainder of the heart. I always find that it’s a little harder to do this when I’ve over-filled the heart and sometimes pull a little bit of stuffing out. When you get to the end you can tie a little knot on the wrong side (inside the heart) and snip the thread. Trim the edges if you need to.

Et voila! Your very own stuffed heart brooch ready to wear for your Valentine’s night out or to give to a loved one!

I’ve been making my heart brooches and giving them as gifts since last summer and finally sold them at my mini-stall at the London Christmas Craftacular last year. I make my brooches out of felt as the ends don’t fray like normal fabric does but you can make them out of whatever you choose – if you do make them from normal fabric I recommend machine sewing around the edge with a zigzag stitch to reduce the fraying or you could use something like FrayCheckor Fray Stop Spray.

I really hope you’ve enjoyed this tutorial! Let me know if there is anything you don’t understand or think I could improve on with my instruction giving. And link to your creations in the comments here so I can see what wonderful things you are making!

xx Crafty Love from a Crafty Fox xx

(All photos in this tutorial have been taken by myself. Please link back here if you use any of them.)

2 Responses to “Tutorial Tuesday!”

  1. stina February 2, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    i loved the one you sent me!

    i made my bf’s daughter a craft binder and i think i’ll draw this project out for her to put in it. AND i’m gonna make a few myself too! 🙂

    thank you again for the lovely parcel! ❤

  2. ingrid March 29, 2016 at 4:29 am #

    Thank you for the step-by -step instructions and photos, as well as the handy tips! A group of ladies and I will be making these this week!

Leave a Reply

