When I Grow Up…

12 Jan

I’ve wanted to be sooooo many different things over the years and said the above statement probably more than I can count on my fingers and toes x100! Haha. Possible careers (that I can remember) have included:

Princess

Nurse (to follow in my dad’s footsteps)

Journalist

Arctic Explorer

Photographer

…zoologist, actor, singer, air hostess, zoo keeper, veterinarian, fashion designer, film-maker. The list goes on and on and on!

But there are a few possibilities that I’ve never really given up on and have stuck with me throughout. Y’know, the old faithfuls that you’ve said more than a few times and to more than a few people. Start my own business, become a teacher and become a librarian. I don’t know about anyone else but I LOOOOVED to play shop when I was younger, pretending that my friends were my most loyal customers on their amazing old school cash registers. And I also loved to pretend that my Barbies and soft toys were my class at school. Most of all I loved to read (and still do when I get the chance and really get into a book). In the last year I’ve been torn between the three careers and have finally decided that it’s about time I give each of them a go. So what am I doing to?

Job Number 1: Start my own business!

This is the year of the Crafty Fox! I’ve finally set myself a realistic goal of starting my craft business this year – it will include a few different areas that I’m very excited about like my first online shop and some other things I can’t go into just yet! But I promise that as soon as I’ve finalised details, you, my beloved blog readers, will be the first to know!

Job Number 2: Become a Teacher

Don’t you just love this image? Haha. Now this goal is slightly harder to do than the others I’ve chosen as it will involve me going back to school myself for a while. My mum has worked in a school for quite a few years so I’ve always been around teachers. My work experience in high school was at a local primary school. One of my old housemates and good friend is in her first year of teaching. But I want to teach secondary school art/textiles/design – a tough one, I know. But I want a challenge in life and I’ve been told that I have the perfect teacher disposition by a few of my mum’s friends!! So this goal won’t be met for a few years but I’m hoping that I do get the chance to teach informally, be it through workshops or tutorials here, as it’s something I really enjoy!

And finally Job Number 3: Become a Librarian

As you may or may not know, I have worked as a bookseller for the last year and a bit. And it was all going well until Borders (in the UK only) decided to go bust. I love books. I always have. Reading was a huge part of my childhood with particular books remaining my favourites to this day! So when my job ended I realised that I wanted to stay working with books and researched a few positions. My mum has been a librarian for over 10 years and I’ve always loved helping her out with any jobs that need doing in her library. She and a few of her friends recently helped me out with my application for a graduate trainee position as a librarian. Now, I’m quite apprehensive about writing this as the closing date isn’t until 28th January and I usually don’t like saying anything about applications. However this time around I could really use some positive vibes!! I really want this and know that I’ll be one of a large group of people applying for 2-4 positions. So prayers and good thoughts are very much appreciated!!!!!

This is a bit of a personal post for me and I appreciate that all of us in blog land always want to know more about each other and why we all make the decisions we do. Hopefully this helps to explain some of it!! Until my next post I hope you all have a good one. And I hope that for some people this helps them to realise that you don’t always have to stick to just one option in life. There are many paths to take and any one could lead you to different experiences that are meant for you.

xx Crafty Love from a Crafty Fox xx

(All credit is linked to the images in this post. Please click each one to link to the source I found it at.)

One Response to “When I Grow Up…”

  1. mel January 14, 2010 at 6:31 pm #

    i’m with you on not being able to make up my mind. (my list of career possibilities is similar to yours too)
    best of luck to you with the library app – that would be a great opportunity!

Leave a Reply

