The Sunday Round Up

10 Jan

This week has been a busy one for me. I’ve spent a lot of time looking for work and hopefully one of my applications will be successful soon! Please keep your fingers and toes crossed (and a prayer or two would be appreciated if you say them!) – I am getting pretty desperate for work as I don’t like not knowing what’s going to happen week after week. This is the first time I’ve been unemployed (and it wasn’t be choice) so it’s a little scary and why I might seem so worried about it too!

Apart from job hunting, I’ve also been catching up on some knitting and crocheting that needed doing. It includes 3 scarves, 1 hat and 2 pairs of fingerless gloves. So far I’ve almost finished one scarf for my boyfriend’s cousin (I’m on the final stretch now!) and then I’m going to try and master knitting with circular needles. I really want to do things the easy way and gloves and hats are easier to make with circular needles! Wish me luck with that one!! (Oh and Vivs, be prepared for a few emails/tweets with the subject line “HEEEEEEELLLLLLLP!”, haha).

Sticking with the knitting theme, I’ve got a new wool obsession. Noro. I admit that I used to bunch it in with the regular self striping wool you usually get for socks (in variegations that I usually don’t like). However I had an epiphany when I saw these finglerless gloves Vivianna was knitting…

The colours of this particular variegation just melted my heart as soon as I saw them. So, naturally I’ve been looking all over the place to try and find the best pictures to show how each different ball of wool knits up. I found some very nice pictures courtesy of Ravelry…(each picture links to the pattern – you will need a Ravelry account to access them.)

(P.S. If anybody wants to get me some Noro wool for my birthday in March, it’ll be greatly appreciated!! I have succumbed and bought a couple of balls as I want to try out a project or two but they are one of the pricier wools available on the shelves although for their quality they’re quite reasonably priced compared to others!!)

So what else has been inspiring me this week?

Inspiration Board

My new inspiration board. I’ve been trying to fill it with all the things I need to keep me inspired and that have recently been inspiring me. I do the majority of my crafting in the living room on the sofa and this sits exactly opposite where I usually park my bum. It’s been a good way for me to really think about what my inspirations are for the things I want to make over the next few weeks, months and years (Jamie, your photo was the first thing to go on there!!).

Oh and for those of you who like peeks into the craft areas of other people, say hello to my yarn stash…

The Yarn Stash

It’s not the best picture (I guess everyone knows how good natural light is in the winter when it’s not sunny!!) but this is what I own. There are projects in mind for quite a few of the skeins that are shown. I just have to actually sit down and make them. But I have a serious motivation for that now as I’m finally sitting down and writing a business plan and timeline. Everytime I get one thing done I will be able to sit down and do a just-for-me project…and believe me, there are A LOT of just-for-me projects I want to do, haha.

So that’s my Sunday Round Up for this week, and again the first of the New Year! I hope you’ve enjoyed it and please keep your fingers crossed for me that something comes along soon in the job department! I hope you’ve all had a good weekend and have a fantastic week ahead. And let me know if you’ve got any Noro projects on the go and I’ll link them on here!

xx Crafty Love from a Crafty Fox xx

Leave a Reply

