Christmas 2009 – Coming Soon!

16 Nov

Now, I realise that for any American readers out there you still have Thanksgiving to go before Christmas really gets into full swing but here in the UK there are no other significant celebrated holidays between Easter and Christmas (I know Halloween falls between them but it’s not yet as big as it is in the US yet).

Christmas for me started about 3 weeks ago when everything started changing at work to become more holiday and gift themed. When you work in retail you soon find out when the seasonal holidays really start and it’s generally about 2-3 months before they actually happen. I decided a while ago that this year was going to be a handmade holiday year and so the first thing I had to do was write a list of all the people I have to make presents for and what I wanted to make for them.

Now you may be thinking that I’m just making presents for people like my immediate family (mum, dad, siblings, partner) and maybe a couple of friends. But no. My family goes up to Scotland each year to spend Christmas on my auntie and uncle’s farm. In total, there will be 11 of us up there (including myself and as far as I’m aware…people always end up being added on, haha). I also have to make another 2 presents for my Meme (grandmother) and brother who live in Australia. And I will most likely give a couple of presents to friends who have been really helpful to me this year. So that takes the number of presents I have to make up to 14 but you have to double and add a couple more to that as people will be getting more than one handmade item, which therefore takes the total number of presents to near 30!!

So my list was written during my two weeks off, but I haven’t started actually making presents until this week. The first ones I want to get done are the ones that have to go to Australia – posting for Christmas is recommended by early December, LATEST! I’ve started on part of Meme’s present…

Grannies for granny

…and I thought it was particularly funny that I was crocheting granny squares for my granny, hehe! If you took part in Elsie and Rachel’s RVA Autumn Craft Class, you know what I’ll be making with these. I love the colours of the wool I’ve chosen and am so happy they go really well together. My mum did help me out a bit with colour choice as she know’s what her mum likes more than I do (even though I’m pretty close to her). Other members of my family will also be getting gifts inspired by the RVA Autumn Craft Class, but obviously I can’t post the completed items here as I know some of them read it. So snippets it’ll be!

One thing I do wish I’d purchased or thought of before I started all of this, is a holiday planner. Rachel over at Smile and Wave posted a tutorial (available to purchase on etsy) for a particularly cute one.

Holiday Planner

Holiday Planner

I haven’t yet bought it but I wouldn’t mind getting the tutorial when payday comes as even though it might be a little late for my holiday planning it can be transformed into a planner for something else or into a journal (or it can be used to make a present for someone). (If anyone would like to get it for me that would be muchos appreciated too, hehe).

I realise that this post has been quite text heavy but I plan on posting more pictures of my run up to Christmas in the coming weeks. It’s fun seeing how everybody prepares for this yearly holiday and inspiring to see what ideas people come up with for handmade gifts. I hope you’ve enjoyed this first installment and I’ll be back next week with more about how I decorate and how my list of presents is coming along! What are you all doing for Christmas this year? Leave me some comment love below.

If you’re blogging your way to Christmas too, leave me a comment and I’ll come and check out your blog and leave you some comment love.

xx Crafty Love from a Crafty Fox xx

2 Responses to “Christmas 2009 – Coming Soon!”

  1. Carol November 16, 2009 at 9:40 pm #

    I really like that blueish color on your granny squares!!

  2. Astrid November 17, 2009 at 10:36 am #

    Hej Jaqueline,
    i got your happy Mail giveaway today. It´s amazing. I love the colours and the jewelery is awsome.
    Thank you so much.
    Have a great week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

