Who loves granny squares?

22 Sep
Granny Love!! My first 5!

Granny Love!! My first 5!

I do! They’ve become a recent obsession of mine after I managed to master the crochet technique involved on a train journey to my parent’s house (and whilst there managed to find some sale yarn in cream and berry/port that I loved and thought would make a great granny square combination!). Debbie Stoller’s “Happy Hooker” Stitch and Bitch book has been my go to for learning new stitches and is so easy to understand and follow.

Stitch 'n' Bitch Crochet - The Happy Hooker

Stitch 'n' Bitch Crochet - The Happy Hooker

Now don’t get me wrong, I had a huge thing with crochet and for years thought it was really difficult and that I’d never be able to do it. But I went to one of the local craft fairs and they had a small stall with the lovely Bee of Chain Creative teaching crochet. One lesson later I was successfully crocheting away and even after a one hour lesson and then picking the hook up again the next day, I hadn’t forgotten anything! I will say that I find crochet much easier than knitting (I am good with the basic knitting and purling but nothing fancy like cable just yet!!). My mum says that some people are like that and I guess my brain is wired to crochet!

Granny Squares and Photo by Sarah London

Granny Squares and Photo by Sarah London

There is so much inspiration out there for crocheters (is that a word?) and one lady I find immensely inspiring is Sarah London. Her colour schemes and crochet techniques are very easy to follow – she blogs mystery patterns each month – and the photos she takes of her squares, doilies and circles are jaw-droppingly gorgeous!! Do check her out if you haven’t already.

Granny Squares and Photo by Rachel Denbow

Granny Squares and Photo by Rachel Denbow

Rachel Denbow is also another person who is inspiring me at the moment in the world of crochet. She’s currently crocheting granny squares for a blanket for her soon-to-be-born-daughter and it’s nice to know that someone has the same worries about unravelling and doing the right amount of stitches!!

And here are a few more inspiring crochet images (mainly of granny squares) to whet your appetite for the lovely craft that is crochet!!!

Cats and Crochet

Cats and Crochet

credit

Lots of squares!!

Lots of squares!!

credit

Lovely Cuffs from polkadotrobot.com!!

Lovely Cuffs from polkadotrobot.com!!

credit (and you can buy them from HERE) (I want one real bad!!)

Right, now it’s time for me to get back to my granny squares and stop being distracted by everyone else’s crochet loveliness!!

xx Crafty love from a Craft Fox xx

2 Responses to “Who loves granny squares?”

  1. Vivianna September 22, 2009 at 10:09 pm #

    YAY! I love those cuffs!

  2. Jamie September 23, 2009 at 6:48 pm #

    Hi, Jackie! Thanks so much for your lovely comment on my blog and for introducing yourself!!! =) Love all this beautiful goodness here!!!

Leave a Reply

