Remember those days…

16 Sep

When all you had to do was learn how to read and write (and in my case make sure the teacher was teaching me to spell my name properly!)? I recently went home for a few days and as per usual, I rummaged through a few boxes of stuff that is lying around my parents house. Is it just me or is there something really magical about going through boxes of old things? I love it and always find something new (or old) that I didn’t know about or forgot about as is usually the case!

This time a found a couple of things I forgot I had like these

Remember these? My "Great Greetings" Tomy Fashion Plate, Magic Squares and Shrinky Dink earrings

Remember these? My "Great Greetings" Tomy Fashion Plate, Magic Squares and Shrinky Dink earrings

The Tomy Fashion Plate was probably one of my most used toys as a kid. All you did was place the rub stencils onto the middle of the plate, put your piece of paper on top, close the lid and rub away! Hey, presto you have a drawing to colour in!

I also found this great book that my mum has had for over 30 years

Touch Typewriting by Pitman Press

Touch Typewriting by Pitman Press

We read through this and some of the wording is hilarious! It tells you to ‘strike the keys’ and one letter tells the student to ‘hasten his speed’ when he types in order to not make any mistakes. I wish I’d written down some of the sentences but believe me, you just crack up when you read it!

My time at my parents house was also spent doing a bit of thrifting. I found these in one of the local charity shops for the unbelievable sum of £1.30!

My gorgeous thrifted bowls and a few crocheted headbands for good measure!

My gorgeous thrifted bowls and a few crocheted headbands for good measure!

I love the colouring and the pattern on these and what a bargain! The headbands are ones that I’ve crocheted myself after recently learning how to. If I’d known how easy it was to begin with, I would have been doing it ages ago! I think I’m one of those people who understands it better than knitting although I’m not giving knitting up just yet as I have a couple of things I want to knit before fall and winter really take hold of the climate.

I’ll be posting again sometime this week as I have more I want to say and show you all but don’t have enough time right now to say and show it. What did you love as a kid and what kind of stuff have you found when rumaging through boxes of old stuff?

It’s time now for me to get on with the first project from the RVA Autumn Class. I’m sooo excited and happy that it’s started now! Inspiration and craftiness, ahoy!

Crafty love from a Crafty Fox xxx

One Response to “Remember those days…”

  1. The Parents September 19, 2009 at 5:27 am #

    Memories oh memories!

    Love you,

    Maman xxx

Leave a Reply

