Embroiderer’s Anonymous

13 Mar
My first embroidery project

My first embroidery project

I thought that I should post something about my crafting so will start off with my embroidery projects I have going at the moment. A couple of them I have to keep under wraps and can’t explain much apart from the fact they are going to be gifts for people but I will show and tell as much as I can.

My embroidery obsession has been fuelled by a certain website called Sublime Stitching. Jenny Hart, I have to say, is a genius. Her patterns are some of the coolest and quirkiest around and provide me with enough inspiration to last a lifetime! (I tried to include a picture but my computer wouldn’t let me so follow my links to her website).

The patterns from the website can be ironed onto the fabric of your choice up to an amazing 8-10 times and from there you can start embroidering in our favourite stitch (mine being backstitch). I ended up ordering 5 patterns from the website and when they arrived I was pleasently surprised to find another 2 had been enclosed in my order as ‘Mystery Packs’. I also ordered Jenny’s book ‘Sublime Stitching: Hundreds of Hip Embroidery Patterns and How-To’ off amazon.co.uk, which includes around 50 pages of patterns! So I’m pretty much set for a while although I really want to order all the patterns available as I’ve got so many ideas.

One of my projects was recently finished – it took me about 5 hours to complete but seeing as it was my first project I was very pleased with how it turned out! Take a look at the Sublime Stitching website – if you want to start crafting and want an easy place to start, embroidery is it!!

Leave a Reply

